Depth: Deep and Shallow

Hey there!

This week’s pictures were a lot easier in some respects than last week’s attempts at stopping and blurring motion. I felt more confident in my shooting capabilities. I’m not sure if it is because my camera is warming up to me finally or if I’m just more experienced in shooting this kind of stuff. Either way, I had fun this week.

Shallow Depth of Field

Fall in a Phone - 9-28-16 - 1:00 pm - 42 mm - f/8 - 1/50 - ISO 200 - AWB - Canon EOS Rebel T5 ©HaleyJolstead
Fall in a Phone – 9-28-16 – Rexburg, ID – 1:00 pm – 42 mm – f/8 – 1/50 – ISO 200 – AWB – Canon EOS Rebel T5
©HaleyJolstead

I love this picture and it was a total accident kind of moment. We were out shooting during our class period and I was sitting down because after shooting flowers like everyone else, I was out of inspiration. I took my phone out of my back pocket and set it next to me while I observed my classmates. I looked over and there it was, the shot of destiny.

In photoshop I just boosted the saturation a tad. I wanted the color of the sky and the leaves to really stand out.

Boulevard - 10-4-16 - 4:30 pm - 48 mm - f/5.6 - 1/400 - ISO 200 - AWB - Canon EOS Rebel T5 ©HaleyJolstead
Boulevard – 10-4-16 – Rexburg, ID – 4:30 pm – 48 mm – f/5.6 – 1/400 – ISO 200 – AWB – Canon EOS Rebel T5
©HaleyJolstead

This is a motorcycle that sits behind the building where I live. I was out taking some last minute shots and loved the logo. My father is a motorcycle enthusiast, and while this is no Ducati, I think he would appreciate it nonetheless.

In Photoshop I played with the curved and lightened the highlights and darkened the shadows.

Deep Depth of Field

Stairway to Nowhere - 10-4-16 - 4:35 pm - 37 mm - f/18 - 1/6 - ISO 200 - AWB - Canon EOS Rebel T5 ©HaleyJolstead
Stairway to Nowhere – 10-4-16 – Rexburg, ID – 4:35 pm – 37 mm – f/18 – 1/6 – ISO 200 – AWB – Canon EOS Rebel T5
©HaleyJolstead

This photo was taken about 5 feet away from the motorcycle. These are the stairs up to my apartment and every day I walk up them I have to pray they won’t break because I’m convinced they were built around the same time Ricks Academy was established in 1903. Either way, I had to crouch down a little to get the angle right and the lady taking a smoke behind me probably thought I was a lunatic. The things I do for my art.

The day was pretty overcast, so I boosted the saturation and added a vignette.

Take a Picture, it will Last Longer - 9-28-16 - 12:45 pm - 30 mm - f/14 - 1/50 - ISO 200 - AWB - Canon EOS Rebel T5 ©HaleyJolstead
Take a Picture, it will Last Longer – 9-28-16 – Rexburg, ID – 12:45 pm – 30 mm – f/14 – 1/50 – ISO 200 – AWB – Canon EOS Rebel T5
©HaleyJolstead

This was also taken during last week’s class period. I loved the exercise of applying what we had just learned in class, but being corralled to the same basic area meant there were a lot of similar pictures. That is why this scene amused me so much. Good crouching, ladies!

Once in photoshop, I cropped the picture so it was a little off center and I boosted the saturation. Can you tell I like colorful pictures?

I really enjoy taking shallow depth of field pictures because it is so easy but also because I think it focuses on a specific aspect of life. I need to work on my Deep depth of field shots, but I had a good week, I think.


3 thoughts on “Depth: Deep and Shallow

  1. The phone picture is very unique, way to take a new look at things! Also, I love the deep depth of field shot with the stair case. Everything appears to be in focus, and I love the composition and colors of it. I love your story that went with it, look funny and do weird things to get more of those kinds of shots!
    Check out Emren Fogle’s pictures, they are so amazing: https://efogleblog.wordpress.com/2016/10/04/shallow-deep-depth-of-field/
    And here is a link to my photos this week: https://breannejamiesonblog.wordpress.com/2016/10/05/blog-4-depth/

    Like

Leave a comment